T20! Facts to Know About the ICC T20 World Cup

T20 is one of the most popular and well-liked games in the world is cricket. It has the rare ability to bring world nations together. Additionally, it is a fantastic platform that brings happiness and amusement to billions of people. Every fan of cricket will find the information we are about to talk about regarding the T20 world cup interesting.

The first T20 World Cup

Facts to Know About the ICC T20 World Cup-1

Read Also: Jasprit Bumrah is replaced by Mohammed Shami in India’s T20 World Cup lineup

In 2007, the first T20 World Cup competition took place. India and Pakistan faced off in the championship match for the world cup trophy, which was held in South Africa. At the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, India defeated Pakistan in the championship game to win the maiden trophy.

The fastest century of the T20 World cup

The renowned Jamaican player Chris Gayle presently holds the record for the fastest century in a T20 World Cup match. In the 2016 match against England, he scored a century in the shortest amount of time. He only needed 48 balls to reach the century.

The fastest half-century

The record for the quickest 50 in the T20 world cup is held by the renowned Indian player Yuvraj Singh. He achieved his rapid fifty during the 2007 World Cup play against England. He needed just 12 balls to reach 50. Additionally, it was the precise game in which he hit six sixes in a single over, scoring 36 runs in one over.

The record for most ducks

The record for the greatest number of ducks – It would be interesting to highlight some of the unlucky records as well when discussing the quickest scores. Shahid Afridi, a well-known cricketer from Pakistan, owns the record for being dismissed with no runs, or a golden duck. He has been out at 0 runs five times before today.

Read Also: Shaheen Shah Afridi is in action in T20 WC 2022

The first hat trick

A bowler’s first hat trick is thought to be an outstanding achievement. This is when they take three wickets in a row. The Australian fast bowler Brett Lee has the first hat-trick of the T20 World Cup. During the 2007 encounter, he recorded the tournament’s first hat trick. The three goals came against Bangladesh.

The record of wickets

The record for wickets must always be included while discussing the records for scoring runs since, as we all know, both runs and wickets are crucial in a cricket match. Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh currently owns the record for most wickets taken. He has broken the previous mark held by Pakistani cricketer Shahid Afridi.

Wins and Losses

Sri Lanka now holds the record for the most victories in the world cup when counting the number of victories and defeats for each team. As of this point in their T20 world cup run, Sri Lanka had won 22 games. Bangladesh, on the other side, is the squad that has dropped games the most, totaling 19.

The highest number of dismissals

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, a former Indian captain who went by the moniker “Captain Cool,” owns the record for the most dismissals in a T20 world championship. He is the only captain to date who has led the group in every T20 World Cup format. 32 of his dismissals during the World Cup were previously his own.

Read Also: Jasprit Bumrah is replaced by Mohammed Shami in India’s T20 World Cup lineup

Record for the highest innings total

The aforementioned information makes it very clear that Sri Lanka is a very successful side in the T20 world cup. The team with the record for the highest score in an inning is Sri Lanka. By defeating Kenya, they were able to break this record by amassing 260 runs for six wickets. This occurred during a match in the 2007 World Cup competition.

West Indies – The most successful

The most successful is if we attempt to gauge each team’s level of achievement based on the number of trophies they have amassed to date. Two titles have been won by them, in 2012 and 2016.

Lowest score

It is important to note the lowest score when discussing Sri Lanka’s highest runs against Kenya. The Netherlands recorded the lowest score in the history of the T20 world championship during their encounter with Sri Lanka. This incident occurred in 2014.

Centuries from different nations

We all likely know that scoring a century in a T20 match is never simple. Seven hundred have been scored as of right now, and the fascinating truth is that seven different batters from seven different countries have scored a century.

The conducting body

The T20 World Cup is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the world’s governing body of cricket, and is formally known as the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It is an occasion that typically occurs every two years. Only seven tournaments have been held up to this point because the covid epidemic prevented the 2020 edition from happening.

The history of the T20 World cup

The Benson & Hedges Cup, a one-day competition, came to an end in the year 2002. The England and Wales Cricket Board, or ECB, was adamant that there should be another one-day championship that prioritized entertaining, fast-paced cricket rather than the longer versions like tests. The 20-over match that eventually led to the T20 world cup was proposed by Stuart Robertson, a member of the ECB’s governing committee.

Read Also: Babar Azam among Adam Gilchrist’s top 5 T20I Players

The name ‘T20 world cup

Since there are only twenty overs in this format, the name T20 is derived from that. ICC global twenty 20 was its original moniker before changing to its current name, ICC.

The hosts

Facts to Know About the ICC T20 World Cup-2

Read Also: T20 World Cup 2022: Tickets Purchasing information, prices, and available seating

Countries interested in hosting the event submitted their bid to the tournament’s organizing organization, the ICC. The ICC members cast ballots for the host nation after taking into account a variety of considerations, and the nation receiving the most votes is given the opportunity to host the competition. South Africa served as the ICC World Cup’s inaugural host nation. Later on, the tournament was also awarded to England, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and Sri Lanka.

Most number of runs

Mahela Jayawardene, a cricketer from Sri Lanka, currently holds the record for the most runs scored in the competition. Between the years 2007 and 2014, he was able to score 1016 runs. He and Kumar Sangakara made 166 runs in a match against the West Indies in 2010 to set the record for the greatest partnership.

Most runs in a single tournament

Cricketer and former Indian captain Virat Kohli currently holds the record for most runs scored in a single tournament. Kohli scored 319 runs in the T20 world cup that was played in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *