PSL8: Haris’ and Rajapaksa heroics Peshawar Zalmi to victory

Mohammad Haris’ outstanding effort helped Peshawar Zalmi overcome Islamabad United by 13 runs on Sunday at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, giving them a boost going into the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 8 playoffs.

Opening batsman Saim Ayub’s clean bowling by Fazalhaq Farooqi on his third pitch put a damper on Zalmi’s batting. The “Yellow Storm,” on the other hand, was guided through the woods by a 115-run alliance between Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Haris.

Peshawar Zalmi Batters on Charge

Rajapaksa scored 41 runs off of 25 balls, while Haris scored 79 runs off 39 balls, including five sixes and seven fours. The remaining Zalmi bats fell short of expectations, as an excellent Hassan Ali concluded with statistics of 3/39 from six innings,  while Shadab Khan took 2/42. Zalmi completed their 20 overs with a score of 178/9.

Also Read: PSL 8: Playoffs lineup complete after Peshawar Zalmi beat Islamabad United

Hassan Nawaz was paired with Alex Hales at the start of the inning after United changed up their batting order a bit. The two-time PSL winners paid a price for the action when Khurram Shahzad of Zalmi removed the player for 0 from 5 balls.

Also Read: Mohammad Rizwan consolidates his position as the top run scorer of PSL8 so far

Shadab Khan, the captain of the United team, scored 25 runs off 19 balls, while Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who batted at number five, scored 33 runs off of 24 balls. With only 5 out of 7 balls managed, Asif Ali performed terribly. Again playing brilliantly, Faheem Ashraf scored 38 runs off 13 balls, including four sixes and two fours.

Also Read: Usman Khan Hit Fastest Ever ton of PSL history

United’s batsmen were kept at bay by bowlers Shahzad (3/13 from 1.4 overs), Sufiiyan Muqeem (3/37), Jimmy Neesham (2/23), and Aamer Jamal (2/28) as they knocked United out for 166 in 19.4 overs. With 10 points after five victories, Zalmi are still in fourth place in the standings. The PSL playoffs have already been qualified for by Babar Azam’s club.

Also Read: Rilee Rossouw hits fastest PSL hundred as Multan Sultans pull off the second-highest chase in T20 history

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *