Prize money announced for T20 World Cup 2022

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the prize money for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, with the title winners receiving a massive $US 1.6 million.

The ICC stated that the victorious team in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Melbourne on November 13 will get $1.6 million in prize money, with the runners-up receiving half that amount. The losing semi-finalists in the almost month-long 16-team event will each get $400,000 from the $5.6 million total prize pool.

The eight teams who are eliminated in the Super 12 stage will each get $70,000 in prize money. A win in each of the 30 games in the Super 12 phase will be worth $40,000, as it was last year at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa are the eight teams who advanced directly to the Super 12 stage.

The remaining eight teams – Namibia, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, and the UAE in Group A, and West Indies, Scotland, Ireland, and Zimbabwe in Group B – will play the first round in two groups of four. The first-round winner will get $40,000 in prize money, with the total prize money for the 12 matches being $480,000.

The four teams eliminated in the first round will each get $40,000 in prize money.

Prize Money table

Winner 1 Team $1,600,000 $1,600,000
Runners-Up 1 Team $800,000 $800,000
Losing Semi-finalists 2 Teams $400,000 $800,000
Super 12 Wins 30 Teams $40,000 $1,200,000
Super 12 Exit 8 Teams $70,000 $560,000
First Round Win 12 Teams $40,000 $480,000
First Round Exit 4 Teams $40,000 $160,000
Total $5,600,000


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *