PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars beat Quetta Gladiators by 17 runs, PSL Season 8 Match 18

At the Gaddafi Stadium on Thursday, Lahore Qalandars defeated Quetta Gladiators by 17 runs in game 18 of the eighth season of the Pakistan Premier League (PSL). The Gladiators were given the job of holding the opposition to a modest 149, but they fell 17 runs short of winning a key victory in the continuing spectacle, putting them in risk of being eliminated early.

Lahore Qalandars beat Quetta Gladiators

Will Smeed and the young Yasir Khan, the Gladiators’ openers, gave their side a head start by scoring 50 runs combined during the power play until Haris Rauf dismissed the latter at 14 to give the Lahore Qalandars a key breakthrough. Yasir’s expulsion caused the Gladiators to drop to 80/5 in the 14th over, which sparked a crucial collapse. When it came time to bat, they only managed to score 131/7 in the allocated 20 overs despite needing 34 runs in the last two overs.

Also Read: PSL 8: Peshawar Zalmi Beat Karachi Kings by 24 runs, PSL Season 8 Match 17

After choosing to bat first, the Gladiators welcomed the Lahore Qalandars. After 19.2 overs, they were all out for 148. After falling to 50-7 in their match against the Gladiators, the Lahore Qalandars were in danger of being dismissed for fewer than 100 runs. Yet, a pivotal fifty-fifty collaboration between Rashid Khan and Sikandar Raza allowed their team to reenter the game. After scoring 21 runs in 20 balls, Rashid was caught in the deep, but not before he and Raza combined for 69 runs in 39 balls.

Also Read: PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars beat Islamabad United by 110 runs, PSL Season 8 Match 16

It should be mentioned that after bringing the Lahore Qalandars down to 29-4 in the first powerplay, the Gladiators bowlers provided their team with the ideal start. Umaid Asif struck Fakhar Zaman (4) directly, sending the in-form player back to the hut. Moreover, Asif returned Mirza Tahir Baig (2) to the pavilion. After scoring two and six runs, respectively, pacer Naveen-ul-Haq removed Hussain Talat and Sam Billings.

Also Read: PSL 8: Lahore Qalandars beat Peshawar Zalmi, PSL Season 8 Match 15

The Lahore Qalandars were hoping Abdullah Shafique would save the team when the early wickets fell, but Nawaz dismissed the right-hander after hitting 15 runs in 14 balls. David Wiese (2) was sent packing after Nawaz successfully completed a straightforward catch and bowled.

Also Read: PSL 8: Karachi Kings beat Multan Sultans by 66 runs, PSL Season 8 Match 14


Yasir Khan, Martin Guptill, Will Smeed, Mohammad Hafeez, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Odean Smith, Umaid Asif, Naseem Shah, and Naveen-ul-Haq are among the Quetta Gladiators.

Lahore Qalandars: Abdullah Shafique, David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi (c), Rashid Khan, Sam Billings (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Mirza Tahir Baig, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, and Zaman Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *