FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022: Kylian Mbappe wins World Cup Golden Boot award, beating Messi

Despite his team’s loss in the World Cup final, France forward Kylian Mbappe won the FIFA World Cup Golden Boot award for scoring the most goals in the tournament. He had two assists and scored eight goals, including three against Argentina in the final at Lusail Stadium on Sunday. Lionel Messi, Argentina’s captain, and PSG teammate finished second with seven goals and three assists. Messi’s teammate Julian Alvarez finished third with five goals, while France’s Olivier Giroud was unable to add to his four goals after being replaced in the first half of the final.

Also Read:  Argentina World Cup Champions!

Mbappe wins World Cup Golden Boot beating Messi

Mbappe wins World Cup Golden Boot beating Messi

Mbappe’s eight goals in Qatar are the joint most in a single World Cup since Gerd Muller scored ten in 1970 (also Ronaldo, eight in 2002), but it will be little consolation to the forward after France’s humiliating defeat. The 23-year-old entered Sunday’s game level with Messi on five goals and twice fell behind in an exciting battle against Argentina’s captain. Messi became the first player in World Cup history to score 20 goals when he converted a penalty after Ousmane Dembele was brought down by Angel Di Maria, who then capped a flowing move to put Argentina up 2-0.

Also Raed: Modric drops big hint as Croatia seals World Cup bronze-bearing Morocco by 2-1

World Cup Golden Boot Race Between Messi & Mbappe

With 10 minutes remaining, Mbappe was given a chance to reclaim the top spot in the scoring charts to get closer to World Cup Golden Boot, tucking a penalty home after Nicolas Otamendi fouled Randal Kolo Muani. Mbappe then took the lead in the World Cup Golden Boot race 97 seconds later, lashing a first-time volley past Emiliano Martinez to force extra time. Messi appeared to have sealed the award – and the trophy for his country – when he prodded Argentina back in front in extra time, but Mbappe responded with another penalty kick after Gonzalo Montiel was penalized for handball.

Also Read: Morocco Didn’t Win the World Cup but won our hearts

Mbappe followed up his heroics by converting the first penalty of the shootout but misses from Kingsley Coman and Aurelien Tchouameni saw his campaign come to an end in heartbreak as Argentina won their third title. Mbappe now has four goals in World Cup final history after scoring against Croatia in 2018, and his overall tally of 12 goals at the tournament ties him with three-time champion Pele.

Also Read: Maradona is smiling now, as Argentina World Cup Champions!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *