Kiwis usher in new era with veteran duo on the outer for India series

New Zealand’s journey into a new era has begun with the omission of two stalwarts from their team for this month’s white-ball series against India at home. The Black Caps will face India in six white-ball matches (three T20Is and three ODIs) beginning on Friday, and the Kiwis named a set of 13-player teams for the fixtures on Tuesday.


Skipper Kane Williamson will once again lead New Zealand during the series, but veteran opener Martin Guptill and left-arm quick Trent Boult are out. In recent times, the Kiwis have preferred to deploy the young Finn Allen ahead of Guptill at the top of the order, and the 23-year-old right-hander is once again favored for the India series. Boult, meanwhile, will be absent after opting out of his contract with New Zealand Cricket earlier this year in order to spend more time with his family and pursue possibilities in local leagues across the world.

Read Also: Prizemoney distribution confirmed for T20 World Cup teams

The choice to leave out Boult and Guptill was difficult for New Zealand coach Gary Stead, who indicated the door was still open for the two to return to the international fold. When Trent opted out of his NZC deal in August, we stated that precedence would be given to players with central or domestic contracts, and that has been the case here,” he explained.

We’re all aware of Trent’s world-class abilities, but at this moment – as we prepare for more global events – we want to give people opportunities and experiences. “With the 50-over World Cup less than a year away, we want to give Finn every chance to continue collecting ODI experience, particularly against strong opponents like India.

Read Alo: Is Ben Stokes England’s greatest cricketer of all time? Jos Buttler answers

The lesson to both of those guys is that there is a lot more international cricket ahead of them, and the door is not closed.

New Zealand T20I squad:

  1. Kane Williamson (c)
  2. Finn Allen
  3. Michael Bracewell20
  4. Devon Conway
  5. Lockie Ferguson
  6. Daryl Mitchell
  7. Adam Milne
  8. Jimmy Neesham
  9. Glenn Phillips
  10. Mitchell Santner
  11. Ish Sodhi
  12. Tim Southee
  13. Blair Tickner

New Zealand ODI squad:

  1. Kane Williamson (c)
  2. Finn Allen
  3. Michael Bracewell
  4. Devon Conway
  5. Lockie Ferguson
  6. Matt Henry
  7. Tom Latham
  8. Daryl Mitchell
  9. Adam Milne
  10. Jimmy Neesham
  11. Glenn Phillips
  12. Mitchell Santner
  13. Tim Southee

Read Also: England Sam Curran named ICC Player of the Tournament

India T20I squad:

  1. Hardik Pandya (C)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Ishan Kishan
  4. Deepak Hooda
  5. Suryakumar Yadav
  6. Shreyas Iyer
  7. Rishabh Pant (VC and WK)
  8. Sanju Samson (WK)
  9. Washington Sundar
  10. Yuzvendra Chahal
  11. Kuldeep Yadav,
  12. Arshdeep Singh
  13. Harshal Patel
  14. Siraj
  15. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  16. Umran Malik

India ODI squad:

  1. Shikhar Dhawan (C)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Deepak Hooda
  4. Suryakumar Yadav
  5. Shreyas Iyer
  6. Rishabh Pant (VC and WK)
  7. Sanju Samson (WK)
  8. Washington Sundar
  9. Shardul Thakur
  10. Shahbaz Ahmed
  11. Yuzvendra Chahal
  12. Kuldeep Yadav
  13. Arshdeep Singh
  14. Deepak Chahar
  15. Kuldeep Sen
  16. Umran Malik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *