India’s victory shattered records: India vs South Africa T20I 2022

India defeated South Africa by 16 runs in a high-scoring T20I in Guwahati to grab a 2-0 series lead. India won their first bilateral series at home against South Africa with a victory in the second T20I of the three-match series in Guwahati. 

South Africa had won one of the previous three series played in India (2015), while the other two were tied (2019, 2022). India batted first and got off to a flying start, with openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul putting up 96 in less than 10 overs. Suryakumar transformed the entire complexion of the match once again. Virat Kohli came out with excellent intent as well.

Yadav hit an 18-ball half-century, the joint-fastest for India in the format, to help India surge through the middle and end overs. Yuvraj Singh still retains the record for the fastest 12-ball fifty in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup, which took place in 2007. Yadav equaled KL Rahul’s accomplishment of reaching fifty.

During his innings, Yadav set another record, being the quickest player (in terms of balls faced) reach 1000 T20I runs. Glenn Maxwell had the previous mark of 604 balls, but Yadav quickly beat it, completing the milestone on his 573rd delivery in T20Is.

Kohli and Yadav’s partnership (102 in 42 balls) was also India’s fastest 100-run stand in this format. India batted first and posted 237/3, their fourth-highest T20I total, with 141 runs coming in the final 10 overs. This was also the biggest T20I total achieved against South Africa.

South Africa were down to 5/2 when Arshdeep Singh got two wickets in his first over, but Quinton de Kock and David Miller rebuilt with a century partnership, giving South Africa a remote hope of reducing the total.

Miller hit his second T20I century in just 46 balls, but the mark was too much for South Africa to chase. Miller and de Kock’s unbroken 174-run partnership is currently the most for the fourth wicket or lower in T20Is.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *