ICC WTC final: Ind vs Aus

India won the series 2-1 on the last day of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 2023 after the Australian batsmen held out for a draw in Ahmedabad. The tourists were 88 runs behind India’s total as the fourth Test of the series’ final day started. The ball was thrown by Rohit Sharma to his reliable bowlers, Mohammad Shami, and Ravichandran Ashwin. And not long after that, Ashwin made a breakthrough by lbw-trapping temporary opener Matthew Kuhnemann.

ICC WTC final

This turned out to be a false dawn, though, as Travis Head (90) and Marnus Labuschagne (63*) made sure the India attack struggled on a real batting surface. By batting out over 50 overs, the pair effectively ruined India’s prospects of winning when Head was bowled by a masterpiece from Axar Patel. Patel now has 50 Test wickets. He was the Indian player who reached the milestone the quickest (in terms of balls bowled).

Also Read: India seal World Test Championship final spot

After tea, a draw appeared to be the only outcome feasible. On the 79th over of Australia’s innings, the teams shook hands as the match dragged on aimlessly. As a result of his breathtaking 186 at Ahmedabad, Virat Kohli was named Player of the Match. Players Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja shared the prize for Player of the Series. Ashwin picked up 25 wickets and scored 86 runs, while Jadeja picked up 22 wickets and scored 135 runs. Both players produced significant all-around efforts.

Also Read:  ICC Women’s Player of the Month winner for February 2023 revealed

India prevailed in the series 2-1 with this tie. India has now defeated Australia in a Test series for the fourth time in a row. India has won 10 of the 16 Border-Gavaskar Trophy series overall. They have now won 16 consecutive home Test series.

Also Read: World Test Championship: Kohli wins captain Rohit’s praise for epic 186

India achieves ICC WTC final qualification

New Zealand’s exciting two-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in Christchurch had secured that the two teams would appear in the ICC WTC final, which will begin on June 7. When India and Australia left the field to begin the second session. With this loss, Sri Lanka will end below India in the WTC rankings, irrespective of the result in the second Test at Wellington.

Also Read: ICC Men’s Player of the Month winner for February 2023 revealed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *