FIFA over dramatic Japan goal against Spain

Ao Tanaka’s winning goal from a Kaoru Mitoma cut-back, which initially appeared to have gone out of play, helped Japan defeat Spain 2-1; the whole curvature of the ball was not deemed to have crossed the line after a thorough VAR examination, favouring Japan; Germany was eliminated as a result.

Also Read: Cristiano Ronaldo transfer tug of war emerges as second club prepare lucrative bid

Graeme Souness has urged FIFA to provide unambiguous proof that the ball was in play during the event that resulted to Japan’s thrilling victory over Spain and the elimination of Germany. After a Kaoru Mitoma cut-back first appeared to be out of play, Ao Tanaka executed a remarkable turnaround. After the goal, there was a lengthy VAR review, but it shockingly found in Japan’s favor since the whole curve of the ball was not deemed to have violated the rules.

Also Read: Adidas technology proves Portugal captain did not score opener against Uruguay at World Cup

FIFA over dramatic Japan goal against Spain

FIFA over dramatic Japan goal against Spain

Also Read: Cristiano Ronaldo makes history

With Spain coming in second and Germany getting booted out after a thrilling 4-2 victory over Costa Rica, Japan took first place in Group E thanks to their victory. Replays of the incident, however, appeared to be inconclusive, prompting Sky Sports’ Souness to demand FIFA present their supporting documentation for their verdict. There are already 80 million insane Germans waiting for a photo proving the ball didn’t leave the field of play, he told ITV.

Also Read: Cristiano Ronaldo’s former Portugal captain reacts to his Manchester United ouster

Germany is a large football-playing country. Why would you cause misunderstanding and then delay resolving it? Why is FIFA not displaying something so contentious? Why won’t they let us see it? Please explain it to us. The goal was initially declared to have gone out by the on-field officials. However, despite initial replays appearing to support their decision, VAR decided it should count because a later aerial view revealed the ball had not completely crossed the line.

Also Read: Cristiano Ronaldo fined and banned for two matches over Everton fan clash

Gary Neville of Sky Sports questioned why only some of the angles of Japan’s winning goal were aired to viewers on television. The high cam on the line does imply that some of the ball may have crossed it, he stated on ITV. But since since Ecuador scored the first offside goal against Qatar in game one, I’ve had some trouble with the fact that we haven’t been given the proper angles; it simply doesn’t feel right. In the Premier League, we can see every VAR camera, but not here.

Also Read: Ronaldo kick off the show as Portugal beat Ghana by 3-2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *