Explainer: The path to Cricket World Cup 2023

15 nations are still vying for the final three berths as we approach the crunch point in the Cricket World Cup 2023 qualification process. Seven of the 32 countries competing for 10 slots in the Cricket World Cup in 2019 have already secured their places, while the remaining 10 teams are no longer eligible. The last berths will be decided based on the results of the Super League, the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, and the Qualification Playoff.

Cricket World Cup 2023

A glance at the state of the field six months before the Cricket World Cup begins. The top eight finishers in the Cricket World Cup Super League, a competition that has taken place over the previous three years and features the best 13 sides in the world of cricket, earn a position in the first eight teams of the 10-team World Cup.

Also Read: Pakistan v Afghanistan in UAE, 2023

England now leads the race with 155 points, securing seven of the eight berths (15 wins and a no-result). Afghanistan’s 115 points (11 victories and a no-result) are the lowest among already-safe teams, while six other teams have point totals that guarantee a top-eight spot. Furthermore finished with their earned points are Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and New Zealand.

Beginning on June 18, the Super League’s bottom five clubs travel to Zimbabwe for the Cricket World Cup Qualification. An automatic slot at the World Cup would be a tremendous relief for the teams that would like to avoid going through the unpredictable Qualification, even though failing to place eighth for the four countries in contention isn’t the end-all-be-all.

Also Read: PSL 8: Babar Azam achieves another milestone

The West Indies are now in the eighth and last automatic slot (88 points), but because their 24-match cycle is up, they are unable to affect the remainder of the tournament. Two points were subtracted from their total for sluggish over rates against New Zealand in August, adding insult to injury and widening the gap for the chasing group.

Sri Lanka (77 points) and Ireland (68 points), who have three games remaining in their quest to pass the West Indies, each have 10 points for victories in the competition. When Bangladesh visits Ireland in May, Sri Lanka is in New Zealand to finish their campaign. Meanwhile, South Africa (78 points) has two games left, both at home versus the Netherlands in a make-up series.

Also Read: Shadab Khan excited to lead ‘young guns’ in Pak-Afghan series

The Qualification, which starts on June 18, will include these four clubs besides Zimbabwe (12th in Super League) and The Netherlands (13th in Super League), with just one of them avoiding ending in the bottom five of Super League.

Cricket World Cup 2023 Spots

Team Qualifying Path
India Tournament Hosts
Afghanistan Top eight Super League finish
Australia Top eight Super League finish
Bangladesh Top eight Super League finish
England Top eight Super League finish
New Zealand Top eight Super League finish
Pakistan Top eight Super League finish
TBA (one of West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, South Africa) Eighth Automatic Spot from Super League
TBA Top Two Qualifier Finish
TBA Top Two Qualifier Finish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *