Pakistan Debate Umpire after Controversial Waist High No Ball Call hands India Victory

Why there is a Controversial Waist High No Ball Call hands over India’s Victory? A dubious no-ball judgment in the last over of India’s T20 World Cup thriller with Pakistan sparked heated debate. The Pakistan fielders, headed by Captain Babar Azam, engaged in an impassioned debate with the on-field umpires over a vital ruling against a waist-high ball.

The penultimate over, delivered by left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz, was plenty of drama. India needed 16 runs to reach the target, which they did on the penultimate ball. In the over, they were assisted along by a no-ball, two wides, and three byes. The no-ball decision infuriated the Pakistan squad, who quickly expressed their anger to the umpires.

Controversial Waist High No Ball Call hands India Victory

The additional No-ball and run reduced the calculation to six required off three

Also Read: The King lives: Virat Kohli masterclass helps India beat Pakistan in MCG thriller

Nawaz dismissed Hardik Pandya with his first ball. Following that, Dinesh Karthik hit a single before sprinting back for a second run to put Virat Kohli back on strike. Kohli smashed the following ball over the deep square-leg boundary, a waist-high full-toss.

The ball had barely escaped Asif Ali’s clutches. Kohli instantly motioned for a no-ball to leg umpire Marias Erasmus. Erasmus verified to Tucker, after a lengthy delay, that it was definitely a no-ball. Babar, apparently upset, hurried to the umpire to challenge the appeal.

Rod Tucker is under attack here, Marias Erasmus is heading over to help him,” Ian Smith remarked on broadcast as Babar resumed his lengthy conversation with Tucker, with Erasmus walking in for support. Pakistan vice-captain Shadab Khan joined in, and Karthik was also listening attentively.

Also Read: India is Not Touring Pakistan for Asia Cup 2023, according to BCCI

Babar, clearly agitated, rushed to the umpire to contest the appeal. “Rod Tucker is under attack here, Marias Erasmus is on his way over to rescue him,” Ian Smith said on the broadcast as Babar began his lengthy chat with Tucker, with Erasmus walking in for assistance.

Shadab Khan, Pakistan’s deputy captain, joined in, and Karthik was also listening intently. The following delivery was wide, reducing the aim to five from three balls. Another free hit, this time clattering Kohli’s stumps, but the carried-over free hit allowed India to grab three byes. Karthik was stumped off the following delivery, but R Ashwin read the next ball – a wide – and ignored it.

India now required a run off the final delivery, and Ashwin calmly tapped the ball over the head of mid-off to secure India a historic victory. It is crucial to note that if the on-field umpires have determined a no-ball in the wake of a dismissal, the TV umpire cannot alter the judgment.

Also Read: Know all types of No balls in cricket: From chucking to underarm bowling

“If the bowler’s end umpire is uncertain as to the fairness of the delivery following a dismissal (other than the front foot, which shall have already been checked by the third umpire), either affecting the validity of the dismissal or which batter is dismissed, other than clause 21.5 (Fair delivery – the feet), for which the third umpire will already have checked,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *