Bangladesh seal historic series victory over T20 World Cup champions

Bangladesh has beaten England in a series for the first time in any format after winning the opening two T20Is of their three-match series. A refreshed Bangladesh line-up has broken new ground with a landmark series victory over defending ICC Men’s T20 World Cup champions England. Mehidy Hasan Miraz set up the stirring victory with 4/12 from four overs that helped dismiss England for 117, then added 20 valuable runs in the chase.

T20 World Cup champions

Najmul Hossain Shanto hit an unbeaten 46* to steer Bangladesh to their target with four wickets and seven balls in hand, to clinch a first-ever series win over England in any format. Bangladesh won the first T20I in the series by six wickets and can now aim for a clean sweep in the third and final clash in Mirpur on 14 March. Miraz and Shanto were two of five players in the historic Bangladesh team to have played fewer than 20 T20Is, as they look to build a new group to compete at the highest level.

Also Read:  South Africa all-rounder ruled out of West Indies ODIs

The T20I series in Bangladesh is the first between the teams, with England coming out on top in their only other meeting in the format by eight wickets at the T20 World Cup 2021. England has triumphed in all five ODI series against Bangladesh, including with two wins from the three 50-over clashes between the teams earlier this month. Bangladesh won their fifth-ever ODI against England in 24 attempts in their most recent meeting after half-centuries to Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Shakib Al Hasan.

Also Read:  Cricket England: Jofra Archer’s career-best 6 wickets Haul

England has been even more dominant in red-ball matches, with victories in their first eight Tests against Bangladesh to open with a streak of four 2-0 series victories. But Bangladesh broke through for a first Test win over England in Mirpur in 2016 to draw that two-match series, when Mehidy Hasan Miraz (6/77) and Shakib Al Hasan (4/49) skittled the visitors for 164 to secure a rousing 108-run victory.

Also Read: Former England captain Eoin Morgan also retired from franchise cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *