Australia Tour of India 2023: As India name T20 star in squad for Aussie Tests

Suryakumar Yadav’s promotion, the return of Ravindra Jadeja, and the absence of Jasprit Bumrah highlight India’s selections for the first two Tests Australia Tour of India 2023. Australia might face white-ball star Suryakumar Yadav in the Test arena after he was included in India’s 17-man team for the opening two games of the much anticipated four-match series next month.

Australia Tour of India 2023

India name T20 star in squad for Aussie Tests-1
Australia Tour of India 2023

Another limited-overs star, Ishan Kishan, has been added to the team, but there is no room for injured speed-bowling ace Jasprit Bumrah, who is also not certain to be ready for the series’ last two games. The Border-Gavaskar series, which begins on February 9, will also include the comeback of India’s key spinning allrounder Ravindra Jadeja if he has been cleared of injury. Though the Indian board has just chosen the team for the first half of the series, selectors will undoubtedly re-evaluate after the first two matches in Nagpur and Delhi.

India name T20 star in squad for Aussie Tests-2
Australia Tour of India 2023

Also Read: Virat Kohli reigns supreme in record India victory

The absence of Bumrah is a significant setback for the hosts. He had hoped to be back in action following a back injury but has been advised to rest for another month before deciding whether to play in the next two Tests in Dharamsala and Ahmedabad in March. Jadeja hasn’t played cricket since last August due to knee surgery, yet he remains one of India’s most important players.

Also Read: A world-record win for India to seal 3-0 whitewash

The issue is whether the late-blooming 32-year-old Suryakumar, despite his eye-catching T20 fireworks, will even make the starting XI, given the powerful top order that includes Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer even without the injured Rishabh Pant. Mohammed Shami will spearhead India’s attack, bolstered by Mohammed Siraj, who earned his name on the 20220-21 Australia Tour of India 2023, and the evergreen 36-year-old Ravichandran Ashwin, who will be assisted by Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav.

Also Read: SKY on the rise: Career best marks for India star following rankings update

Australia Test squadPat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

India squad for the first two Tests: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

February 9-13: First Test, Nagpur, 3pm AEDT

February 17-21: Second Test, Delhi, 3pm AEDT

March 1-5: Third Test, Dharamsala, 3pm AEDT

March 9-13: Fourth Test, Ahmedabad, 3pm AEDT

Also Read: T20 World Cup: SKY sets huge new record for India as his game-changing 2022 continues



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *