ICC 2023 Cricket World Cup

The 2023 Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket competition organized by the International Cricket Council and contested by men’s national teams (ICC). It will be conducted fully in India in October and November 2023, marking the first time the tournament has been staged wholly in India. Three earlier events – 1987, 1996, and 2011 – were partly held there.

The tournament was originally slated to take place from 9 February to 26 March 2023, however, it was revealed in July 2020 that it would be moved to an October-November window due to the interruption of the qualifying process caused by the COVID-19 epidemic. The reigning champions are England, who won the previous event in 2019.

The 2023 Cricket World Cup qualification

2023 Cricket World Cup

Also Read: BBL: Hurricanes limp past Stars in low-scoring thriller, in Big Bash 2023, Match 35

The 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualification process is the edition of the Cricket World Cup qualification process for the 2023 Cricket World Cup, as well as the launch of a new qualification method. A series of cricket tournaments will be held to select which nations will compete in the 2023 Cricket World Cup. In all, 32 nations are participating in the qualification process, with 10 of them qualifying for the World Cup.

The 32 clubs are split into three leagues: the Super League (13 teams), League 2 (7 teams), and the Challenge League (2 teams) (12 teams). Teams either immediately qualify for the World Cup, are eliminated from World Cup qualification, or proceed to various supplemental qualifying competitions through which they may qualify for the World Cup based on the results of the leagues.

The extra qualifying events also decide league promotion and relegation. Teams were assigned to the three leagues based on their ICC member status, ODI status, and position from the 2017-2019 ICC World Cricket League since it was the first time the new procedure was used.

Also Read: BBL, Sixers won 7 wickets over by Thunders, in Big Bash 2023, Match 34


2023 Cricket World Cup-1

Also Read: BBL, Scorchers blaze to the top with Bancroft and Hardie fifties in Big Bash 2023, Match 33

The 2023 World Cup will include 10 teams, as did the previous tournament. The major qualifying path is the 2020-23 Super League event. The top seven teams in this competition, as well as the hosts (India), will qualify for the World Cup. The remaining five teams, together with five Associate teams, will compete in the 2023 Qualifier, with two teams advancing to the final event.

Also Read: BBL, Sam Harper takes Renegades past Hurricanes and into the top half of the table in Big Bash 2023, Match 32

Means of qualification for World Cup Date Venue Berths Teams
Host nation 1  India
Super League 30 July 2020 – 31 March 2023 Various 7  Afghanistan
 New Zealand
Qualifier 18 June – 9 July 2023 Zimbabwe 2
Total 10

Also Read: 2023 Cricket World Cup – Teams, Venues & Exciting Fixtures

The following teams were eliminated from World Cup qualifying.

Tournament at which eliminated from World Cup qualification Date Venue Berths Teams
Challenge League 16 September 2019 – 14 December 2022 Various 10  Bermuda
 Hong Kong
Qualifier Play-off TBD Various 4
Qualifier 18 June – 9 July 2023 Zimbabwe 8
Total 22

Also Read: Venues & Hosts for The 2023 Cricket World Cup

Qualifying leagues

2023 Cricket World Cup-3

Also Read: BBL, Sixers edge Stars by 6 wickets in drama-filled MCG thriller in Big Bash 2023, Match 31

The current initial season of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super Competition, a One Day International (ODI) league, is the 2020-23 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. The league runs from July 2020 to May 2023 and is part of the qualifying process for the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

The league includes thirteen teams, twelve Full Members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), and the Netherlands, who qualified for this tournament by winning the 2015-17 ICC World Cricket League Championship. Each country will play eight of the other twelve nations in each ODI series, four at home and four away. Each series includes of three One-Day Internationals (ODIs).

Read Also: BBL: Record breakers! Strikers chase 230 after Short ton over Hurricanes in Big Bash 2023, Match 30

The COVID-19 epidemic hampered the league’s debut, causing numerous sets of matches to be postponed. Following a conference of Chief Executives in April 2020, the ICC said that it would reconsider the league’s future once it had a clearer grasp of the effect of the epidemic on cricket. The inaugural matches of the league were between England and Ireland, which began on July 30, 2020.

As a consequence of the pandemic’s effect, the ICC decided in March 2022 to extend the tournament’s cut-off date to May 2023, enabling the series between Ireland and Bangladesh to go place. Following a trial period that began in December 2019, the ICC announced the use of technology to monitor front-foot no-balls for all Super League matches. The front-foot no-balls were called by the third umpire, who communicated with the on-field umpires.

Also Read: BBL: Thunders beat down Scorchers in Big Bash 2023, Match 29

League table

Pos Teams Pld W L NR Ded Pts NRR Progress to
1  India (Q) 21 13 6 2 1 139[a] 0.782 2023 Cricket World Cup[b]
2  New Zealand (Q) 19 12 5 2 0 130 0.671
3  Pakistan (Q) 19 13 6 0 0 130 0.221
4  England (Q) 18 12 5 1 0 125 1.219
5  Australia (Q) 18 12 6 0 0 120 0.785
6  Bangladesh (Q) 18 12 6 0 0 120 0.384
7  Afghanistan (Q) 15 11 3 1 0 115 0.573
8  West Indies 24 9 15 0 2 88[c] −0.738
9  Sri Lanka 21 7 12 2 3 77[d] −0.094 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier
10  Ireland 21 6 13 2 2 68[e] −0.382
11  South Africa 16 5 9 2 1 59[f] −0.458
12  Zimbabwe (A) 21 4 16 1 0 45 −1.141
13  Netherlands (A) 19 2 16 1 0 25 −1.163

League 2

Outcome Berths Teams
Qualified for Qualifier 3  Scotland
Qualified for Qualifier Play-off 4  Papua New Guinea
 United States
Total 7

Also Read: BBL: Melbourne Renegades win derby against rivals Melbourne Stars by 33 runs in Big Bash 2023, Match 27

The 2023 Cricket World Cup Challenge Play-off is an impending cricket competition in 2023 that will determine the last four spots in the Cricket World Cup Challenge League for the following World Cup cycle. The tournament’s host and match status are yet to be determined. It will include the lowest four teams from the 2019-2022 ICC Cricket World Cup Challenge League, as well as four new teams (who are hoping to come up from below).

These four “new” nations are likely to be the top four in the ICC T20I Championship that did not participate in the 2023 Cricket World Cup qualifying procedure. The top four teams from this “Challenge Play-off” tournament will then advance to the following cycle’s twelve-team World Cup Challenge League field.

Pos Team Pld W L T NR Pts NRR Qualification
1  Scotland (Q) 32 22 8 0 2 46 0.638 Qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier
2  Oman 36 21 13 1 1 44 0.039
3  Namibia 30 18 11 0 1 37 0.484
4  United States (A) 36 16 17 2 1 35 −0.040 Qualification for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-off
5  United Arab Emirates 26 12 11 1 2 27 0.051
6    Nepal 24 8 14 1 1 18 −0.331
7  Papua New Guinea (A) 28 2 25 1 0 5 −0.982



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *